You are here

Connecting you to influential authors – one webinar at a time.

SAGE Talks

Join SAGE's new and best-selling authors for SAGE talks webinars!

Designed for various levels of faculty and students, these engaging webinars will help you learn more about our authors, textbooks, and initiatives. SAGE talks webinars offer you the opportunity to closely interact with authors as they explore some of today's top trends and discussions within the worlds of Social, Behavioral, and Health Sciences.

The Pandemic Addiction Volcano

The opioid crisis has become a serious national crisis, and drug-related deaths now surpass that from vehicular accidents in America. The pandemic has become global with the June 2019 Drug Report revealing that the opioid crisis is much worse than we thought. As an instructor preparing students to deal with this national public health crisis, how are you preparing your students who will eventually be at the epicenter of this public health crisis? Research is increasingly emerging about the similarities between substance addictions and behavioral addictions. How do we, as a discipline, better prepare students for the future which will require a unique set of skills?

Join your colleagues for an engaging and interactive webinar with author of Addictions Counseling Today, Kevin G. Alderson.

This webinar will:
•    Review current statistics regarding drug-related deaths
•    Provide statistics regarding the prevalence of both substance and behavioral/process addictions
•    Outline the controversy surrounding behavioral/process addictions
•    Summarize the ways that counselors bring a unique contribution to helping addicted individuals
 

Wednesday, October 16, 2019, 12:00 PM PST/ 3:00 PM EST/ 8 PM BST 

Register