You are here

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Book orders submitted from April 23rd to May 6th will be delayed due to a system upgrade. Please allow extra processing time of one to two weeks minimum. We apologize for the inconvenience. For immediate access to most SAGE books, please select the E-review copy option when requesting an instructor review copy or Electronic version when selecting a purchasing option and then follow the link to the VitalSource website to complete your request. If you require assistance with requesting an E-review copy or Electronic version, please call (800) 818-7243 ext. 6140 or email

Jozef Leonardus Vaessen Maastricht University, Netherlands, UNESCO, France

Jos Vaessen (Ph.D. Maastricht University) is Principal Evaluation Specialist at the Internal Oversight Service of UNESCO in Paris and lecturer at Maastricht University, The Netherlands. After completing his M.Sc. in 1997 (Wageningen University) and prior to starting his current position at UNESCO in 2011, he has been involved in research, teaching and evaluation activities in the field of international development at Antwerp University and, more recently, Maastricht University. Over the last fifteen years or so, he has worked for several multilateral and bilateral international organizations mostly on evaluation-related assignments. His fields of interest include: theory and practice evaluation, impact evaluation, rural development and environment. In addition to managing and conducting evaluations Jos regularly serves on reference groups of evaluations of different organizations.

He has been (co-) author of more than 30 publications, including three books. Recent publications include: Impact evaluations and development – NONIE guidance on impact evaluation (2009, co-author, with F. Leeuw), Mind the gap: perspectives on policy evaluation and the social sciences (2009, co-editor,with F. Leeuw), The effects of microcredit on women’s control over household spending in developing countries (2014, coordinator and first author, with A. Rivas, M. Duvendack, R. Palmer Jones, F. Leeuw, G. van Gils, R. Lukach, N. Holvoet and J. Bastiaensen, J.G. Hombrados, and H. Waddington).