You are here

Sage online ordering services will be unavailable due to system maintenance on May 17th from 6:00 pm Pacific / 9:00 pm Eastern time to 12:00 am Pacific / 3:00 am (May 18th) Eastern time. Thank you for your patience and we apologize for the inconvenience.

Press room

Celebrating outstanding achievement in politics: the 2017 Political Studies Association Award winners announced

December 6, 2017

London, UK. The Political Studies Association Awards, held at Church House on Tuesday 5 December, recognised politicians, academics, journalists, policy makers and artists for their contribution to the practice and study of politics over the past 12 months. 

The winners were chosen by a panel of expert judges from a shortlist of nominations by members of the Political Studies Association. As publisher of the PSA journals, SAGE Publishing was delighted to once again sponsor and support the annual awards, celebrating and promoting the important role that scholarly research plays in the practice and study and politics.

The full list of winners reads:

  • Politician of the Year: The Rt Hon Jeremy Corbyn MP (awarded in absentia)
  • Parliamentarian of Year: Ruth Davidson MSP (awarded by Professor Angelia Wilson, Chair, PSA)
  • Backbencher of the Year Award:  Stella Creasy MP (awarded by Rt Hon John Bercow MP, Speaker of the House of Commons)
  • Best use of evidence by a politician:  Dr Sarah Wollaston MP (awarded by Jonathan Breckon, Director, Alliance for Useful Evidence)
  • Campaigner of the year:  Gina Miller (awarded by Fatima Manji, News Correspondent, Channel 4 News)
  • Journalist of the Year:  Stephen Bush (awarded by Anne Perkins, Leader Writer, The Guardian)
  • Broadcaster of the Year: Emma Barnett (awarded by Matt Forde, Broadcaster and Comedian)
  • Contribution to the Arts and Culture:  James Graham (awarded by Grayson Perry, Artist)
  • Sir Isaiah Berlin Prize for lifetime contribution to Political Studies:  Professor Pippa Norris (awarded by Sir Ivor Crewe, Master of University College, Oxford)
  • Political Studies Communicator:  Professor Roger Scully (awarded by Ziyad Marar, President of Global Publishing, SAGE)
  • Jo Cox Prize for Public Service and Activ Citizenship: Dr Sarah Marie Hall (awarded by Professor Sarah Childs, Professor of Politics and Gender, Birkbeck, University of London)
  • Special Recognition Award:  The academic team for the BBC/ITV/Sky joint exit poll for the 2017 General Election (awarded by Adam Boulton, Editor-at-Large, Sky News)
  • Student Short Video Competition:  Methodist College Belfast (awarded by Emma Little Pengelly Member of Parliament for Belfast South & Joe Twyman, Head of Political and Social Research for Europe, Middle East and Africa YouGov)
  • Political Image of the Year: Geert Van Den Wijngaert, Associated Press (awarded by Will Moy, Director, Full Fact)

The evening was hosted by Jon Snow, Channel 4 News and the guestlist included parliamentarians from the House of Commons and the House of Lords, noted journalists and prominent academics. 

The judging panel consisted of: Professor Angelia Wilson, Chair, PSA; Dr Paul Tobin, Trustee, PSA; Professor Sarah Childs, Professor of Politics and Gender, University of Bristol; Matt Forde, Broadcaster and Comedian; Fatima Manji, News Correspondent, Channel 4 News; Will Moy, Director, Full Fact; and Anne Perkins, Leader Writer, The Guardian.


The Political Studies Association exists to develop and promote the study of politics. Founded in 1950, we are the leading association in our field in the United Kingdom, with an international membership including academics in political science and current affairs, theorists and practitioners, policy-makers, researchers and students in higher education.

Sara Miller McCune founded SAGE Publishing in 1965 to support the dissemination of usable knowledge and educate a global community. SAGE is a leading international provider of innovative, high-quality content publishing more than 950 journals and over 800 new books each year, spanning a wide range of subject areas. Our growing selection of library products includes archives, data, case studies and video. SAGE remains majority owned by our founder and after her lifetime will become owned by a charitable trust that secures the company’s continued independence. Principal offices are located in Los Angeles, London, New Delhi, Singapore, Washington DC and Melbourne.

Contact (media inquiries only)

Yearly archive
2020 (12)
2019 (45)
2018 (83)
2017 (97)
2016 (133)
2015 (150)
2014 (145)