You are here

Keith Roberts Teaching Innovations Award


website banner image for Keith Roberts Teaching Innovations Award

The Sage College Publishing Keith Roberts Teaching Innovations Award is designed to support the next generation of sociology scholars and teachers who are committed to teaching and learning sociology. This award is sponsored by Sage and numerous Sage authors, with a key goal of providing professional development opportunities to early-career teachers who are presently teaching sociology.

Named in honor of the award's late co-founder and former long-time organizer Keith Roberts, the award recipients will receive travel funds to attend the American Sociological Association's (ASA) Section on Teaching & Learning's pre-conference workshop. This presents an opportunity for these devoted scholar-teachers to engage with one another, further their knowledge, and gain valuable insights.

This year's workshop, titled The Educative Power of Sociology, will be held on Thursday, August 17th from 9:00 AM – 4:00 PM at the site of the 2023 ASA conference in Philadelphia, PA. 

2023 Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 2023 Sage Teaching Innovations & Professional Development Award Recipients!

  • Letisha Brown, The University of Cincinnati
  • Maximilian Cuddy, University of Illinois Chicago
  • Lauren Danielowski, University of Connecticut
  • Meredith Field, Alfred University
  • Gabby Gomez, Oklahoma State University 
  • Luis Gonzalez-Diaz, University of Florida
  • Christopher Hansen, Loyola University Chicago
  • Lauren Harvey, Hunter College, CUNY
  • Lara Johnson, Grinnell College 
  • Austin Luzbetak, Colorado State University
  • Cassie Mead, Indiana University
  • Maria Mora, Cal State University, Stanislaus
  • Siobhan Pokorney, Graduate Center, CUNY
  • Melissa Quesada, University of California, Merced
  • Kathryn Rittenhour, University of Missouri
  • Jessica Schachle, Oklahoma State University
  • Aliyah Turner, DePauw University
  • Douglas Valentine, University of Missouri - Columbia 
  • Emily Vasquez, University of Illinois Chicago
  • Yue Zhang, University of Georgia

2023 Sage Author Contributors

The Sage Teaching Innovations & Professional Development Award is made possible by the generous contributions of the following Sage authors: